What makes your body move?

The central nervous system (CNS), divided into the somatic and autonomic systems, control all muscle movement. The somatic system controls voluntary muscles while the autonomic system controls involuntary muscles. Signals sent by each cause muscle fibers to contract. Tendons anchor muscles to bones.