How do you unload a dishwasher?

Unload the bottom first. If you unload the top first, the bottom dishes will most likely get wet. Sort as you load. If you load like with like, it makes things quicker to unload. Toss all your itty-bitty items into a mesh laundry bag and then put it on the top rack.