What is the saint lawrence waterway?

The Saint Lawrence Seaway is a system of locks, canals, and channels in Canada and the United States that allows ocean going vessels to travel from the Atlantic Ocean to the Great Lakes of North America. Legally, the seaway extends from Montreal, Quebec, to Lake Erie and includes the Welland Canal.