What is the ideal height to hang a picture?

As a rule of thumb, it's best to hang your picture at least 60 inches from the ground in places where they will be viewed from a standing position, such as in a hallway. For smaller pictures, you can hang them a little higher, about 65 inches. This height is the most comfortable.