What country started the easter bunny?

According to some sources, the Easter bunny first arrived in America in the 1700s with German immigrants who settled in Pennsylvania and transported their tradition of an egg-laying hare called Osterhase or Oschter Haws. Their children made nests in which this creature could lay its colored eggs.