What is a quantum leap?

Atomic electron transition is a change of an electron from one energy level to another within an atom or artificial atom. It appears discontinuous as the electron "jumps" from one energy level to another, typically in a few nanoseconds or less. It is also known as a quantum jump or leap.

---

In physics, a quantum leap is the abrupt change of a subatomic particle from one energy state to another.