How many potatoes per person for mashed potatoes?

It depends on the size of the potato. If you are using small (I.e red skin) 2-3; if you are using large (I.e Idaho) 1 would be sufficient.

---

Depending on what size potatoe you are using and if they are hearty eaters, one large size Idaho potato per person.