How many square miles on the planet earth?

The total surface area of the Earth is approximately 196.9 million sq. miles (510.1 million sq. km). However, it is important to note that this includes both land and water areas. 57.5 million sq. miles (148.9 million sq. km) of land and 139.4 million sq. miles (361.2 million sq. km) of water.