What was the first book in history?

The first written story that has come down to us is "The Epic of Gilgamesh". It is a mythologized account of an historical figure, Gilgamesh, a ruler of the Sumerian city-state of Uruk. There are a number of fragmentary versions of the story. The oldest known are dated around 2100 BC.