How long does it take for a lava lamp to warm up?

A lava lamp usually takes 45-60 minutes to heat up so that the wax is warm enough to form freely rising blobs, when operating the lamp at standard room temperature. It may take as long as 2 to 3 hours if the room is below standard room temperature.