Where do white strawberries come from?

The white strawberry is mainly found in Japan, where it's a fixture within the luxury fruit market. There are several varieties of the special fruit in the Asian country, but the most popular type is the White Jewel, or Shiroi Houseki, which is the rarest and most expensive among them all.