Who was the only american impressionist?

In 1886, with a series of brilliant images of New York's new public parks, William Merritt Chase became the first major American painter to create Impressionist canvases in the United States.

---

America's Mary Cassatt traveled to France for her artistic training and remained there for most of her life and career. She became the only American artist to exhibit with the Impressionists in Paris. There were many American artists who painted in the impressionist style.