What is a figure of speech?

A figure of speech or rhetorical figure is a word or phrase that intentionally deviates from ordinary language use in order to produce a rhetorical effect. Some examples are alliteration, anaphora, hyperbole, irony, onomatopoeia, paradox, personification, pun, simile, and understatement.