Can opossum get rabies?

Yes, the opossum can contract rabies if it is bitten by or exposed to the saliva of an animal which infected with the disease. However since marsupials have a lower average body temperature than other mammals, they rarely contract the disease.

---

Yes, the opossum, a marsupial native to North America, can contract rabies if it is bitten by, or exposed to the saliva of, an animal which infected with the disease. However since marsupials have a lower average body temperature than other mammals, it's been discovered they rarely contract it