How much water does an average shower use?

In an average home, showers are typically the third largest water use after toilets and clothes washers. The average American shower uses 17.2 gallons (65.1 liters) and lasts for 8.2 minutes at average flow rate of 2.1 gallons per minute (7.9 liters per minute).

---

The average American shower uses 17.2 gallons and lasts for 8.2 minutes.