What's the difference between sleep and hibernate on a computer?

Sleep mode stops all actions on the computer and puts then in memory while the computer goes into a low-power state. The computer is still on. Hibernate mode saves your documents etc. to your hard disk. This allows your computer to turn off entirely and uses zero power.