What is the compliment system?

As part of the immune system, it enhances the ability of antibodies & phagocytic cells to clear microbes & damaged cells, promote inflammation, & attack a pathogen's cell membrane. It also complements physiological processes like tissue regeneration & clearing immune complexes and dead cells.