How do you cube an onion?

Cut the onion in half. Flat side down, slice the onion on the horizontal plane into 3 or 4 slices. Do not cut quite all the way through. Slice the onion on the vertical plane into 3 or 4 slices. Cut the onion into pieces by chopping vertically end to end.