What's considered a dry white wine?

A dry white is any white wine that isn't sweet. But for cooking, you want a wine with a high acidity known in wine parlance as “crisp.” Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Grigio, Pinot Gris, Pinot Blanc, Sémillon, and dry sparkling wines are especially good.