What is the main difference between centerfire and rimfire ammunition?

There is several differences. Cf is reloadable. Rf is not. Cf is very often higher caliber. Most modern hunting rifles use cf. Rf is used for small game hunting and competitive shooting. Cf usually costs more. Hope this helps.