Why does beans make you fart?

Beans (legumes) cause gas because they contain a particular sugar, called an oligosaccharide, that the human body can not break down fully. The bacteria in the intestine finally break down these sugars. Doing so causes fermentation and the production of gas that we release as flatulence.