How do you use amiibo?

Press and hold the UP button on the left Joy-Con D-Pad (the one that brings up the Runes). Scroll to the right on the right Joy-Con joystick to select the amiibo Rune. Press the L shoulder button to trigger the amiibo. Place your compatible amiibo on the right Joy-Con joystick to scan the NFC chip.