Who was alexus de toquerville?

Alexis Charles Henri Clérel, Comte de Tocqueville, colloquially known as Tocqueville, was a French aristocrat, diplomat, political scientist, and historian. He is best known for his works "Democracy in America," and "The Old Regime and the Revolution."