What kind of bears are in yosemite?

American black bears found in Yosemite National Park have long been of intense interest to park visitors and managers. Seeing one of the approximately 300 to 500 black bears in Yosemite can evoke awe, and fear. If you spot a bear while in the park, it is a black bear - not a brown or grizzly bear.