What does a whiskey mean?

Generally, whiskey (or whisky) can be any of a variety of distilled liquors, It is generally spelled “whiskey”—with an e—in the United States and Ireland. It is spelled “whisky”—without the e—in Scotland and Canada, which are both well known for their whisk(e)y, and in several other countries.