What's a wise tale?

Old wise tale is a mishearing of the phrase old wives’ tale. An old wives’ tale is a belief or superstition that is commonly believed to be true but is not based on actual fact. It is usually but not always erroneous, folklore passed down from 1 generation to another without scientific analysis.