Why do airplanes fly in the sky?

Aside from the fact that airplanes cannot fly anywhere else, airplanes fly due to a clever use of bernoulli's lift equation. This shows that with increased velocity the air speeds up over top of the curved wing, this causes a decrease in pressure on top and an overall upward force on the plane.