Has a freshman ever won the heisman trophy?

Yes, only twice has a freshman won the Heisman trophy. Johnny Manziel, quarterback Texas A&M, became the first in 2012 with 72.88% of the vote. In the following year Jameis Winston, quarterback Florida State, won the award with 79.12% of the vote.