When did puerto rico become a territory of the united states?

In 1898, following the Spanish–American War, the United States acquired Puerto Rico under the terms of the Treaty of Paris. Since then, Puerto Rico has remained an unincorporated territorial possession, making it one of the oldest colonies in the Western Hemisphere.

---

Puerto Rico became a territory of The United States in 1898.