When did puerto rico become a territory of the united states?

2 Answers

In 1898, following the Spanish–American War, the United States acquired Puerto Rico under the terms of the Treaty of Paris. Since then, Puerto Rico has remained an unincorporated territorial possession, making it one of the oldest colonies in the Western Hemisphere.

{{ relativeTimeResolver(1567773952134) }}

Points points 331

Puerto Rico became a territory of The United States in 1898.

{{ relativeTimeResolver(1629908330071) }}

Points points 223

Want to help make Alexa smarter?

Alexa was not able to answer this question until the person above taught it how to. Have a go at answering questions that Alexa still cannot answer today and watch your answers get shared to Alexa users!

Sign in with Amazon