Who is captain kane?

Captain Kane was hired by Professor Briggs to hep find Doctor Parker. After reaching latitude X, Captain Kane's boat was sunk by what he thought was an island. After him and Professor Briggs washed up on the island they were captured by the natives and taken to the same place as Doctor Parker.