Is a sweet potato and a yam the same thing?

No, sweet potatoes have moisture rich sweet flesh that can range in color from white to orange to purple. Real yams are a different root vegetable that are more like yucca in texture and flavor. They have tough brown skin that looks almost tree trunk-like with starchy, not sweet flesh.