What makes fingernails grow?

Nails start in the nail root, hidden under the cuticle. When cells at the root of the nail grow, the new nail cells push out the old nail cells. These old cells flatten and harden, thanks to a protein keratin. The newly formed nail then slides along the nail bed, the flat surface under your nails.