Why do we celebrate queen victoria?

May 23rd marks the birthday of Queen Victoria, who was the ruling monarch at the time of Canada's birth as a country in 1867. It's a day to celebrate all the wonderful things that make Canada, Canada.

---

She was a reigning monarch (Queen) for 63 years, seven months and two days. Victoria Day was declared a Canadian holiday by the government in 1845. At that time, it was celebrated with picnics, parades, sporting tournaments, fireworks and cannon salutes.