What is the definition of stimuli?

a thing or event that evokes a specific functional reaction in an organ or tissue. "areas of the brain which respond to auditory stimuli" a thing that rouses activity or energy in someone or something; a spur or incentive. "if the tax were abolished, it would act as a stimulus to exports"