Can flowers be black?

There are no naturally-occurring flowers that are truly black as flowers do not create black pigment. However, there are flowers with such dark hues of blue, brown, purple, or red that the petals can appear to be black. Some examples are "black beauty pansy", "bat orchid", and "black hyacinths".