When did andy roddick retire?

On August 30, 2012, during the 2012 US Open and on his 30th birthday, Roddick announced that he would retire after the tournament. His final match was on September 5, 2012. Roddick retired from the sport with the aim of focusing on his work at the Andy Roddick Foundation.