What's the difference between a grasshopper and a locus?

Locusts and grasshoppers are the same in appearance, but locusts can live either solitarily or in swarms, whereas most grasshoppers only live solitary lifes. When the population density is low, locusts behave as individuals, much like grasshoppers.