How much is a serving of fruits and vegetables?

The general rule, 1/2 cup of a fruit or vegetable is considered one serving, according to the American Heart Association. If having a piece of fruit something the size of a baseball would justify serving portion. While a half a cup of fruit or vegetable also serves the portion requirements.