What is the financial c. d.?

A certificate of deposit, commonly called a CD, is a special savings account you can open at most banks and credit unions. But unlike a regular savings account, CDs require you to lock your funds away for a specific period of time until a maturity date. In return, you'll get a higher interest rate.