What's the purpose of a fruit fly?

Fruit flies are also a valuable asset to scientists performing genetic research, since fruit flies and humans share 75% of those genes which cause disease. Their short lifespan is also amenable to examining changes and mutations that can occur between birth and death.

---

Drosophila Melanogaster, more commonly known as the fruit fly, may seem like an annoying pest but their short life cycle has been ideal for scientists in the field of genetics, pharmacology, physiology, and other biologic studies. Studies of these little animals have lead to many discoveries for man