Why did they call three strikes in bowling a turkey?

At some point (no one knows the exact first instance), one bowling tournament decided to give away a turkey to people who managed to bowl three strikes in a row. This practice spread and eventually embedded itself in common bowling vernacular, long after giving away actual turkeys stopped.