Why does my water smell like sulfur?

Hydrogen sulfide gas can give water a “rotten egg” taste or odor. This gas can occur in wells anywhere and be naturally occurring as a result of decay and chemical reactions with soil and rocks or produced by certain “sulfur bacteria” in the groundwater, well, or plumbing system.