Why does the statue of liberty hold a torch?

It is to symbolize America as a beacon of light in a storm for people who are coming to this country from “tempest tossed” lands - in other words people who are not welcome in their home countries can come to the US and are welcome and can find sanctuary- or that was France’s intention upon gifting.