What does salt do to snails?

When you pour salt on a snail the water is very rapidly pulled out of the cells of the snail's body by a process called osmosis. As it dries out, the snail's body produces a slimy substance to protect itself. ... If enough salt is poured on the snail it will die of dehydration fairly quickly