How long does it take lice to lay eggs?

A female louse lays 3-5 eggs a day. The eggs hatch in 7-10 days and it takes another 7-10 days for a new female louse to mature and lay their own eggs. Head lice can survive on a human host for approximately 30 days. They generally cannot survive longer than 24 hours off the host.