What happens if you touch mercury?

Direct contact with liquid mercury can cause irritation and chemical burns. Possible immediate effects may include dizziness, vertigo, flu-like symptoms, burning or irritation, pale or clammy skin, irritability, and emotional instability. It can also damage the brain, liver, kidneys, and blood.