What is the difference between minecraft bedrock edition and minecraft java edition?

One major technical difference between both versions is the world format. Bedrock Edition uses the LevelDB format for world storage while Java Edition uses the Anvil format. Due to this, most third-party tools created for Java Edition world editing will not work on Bedrock Edition.