What kind of snakes are in new york?

Garter snakes and water snakes are most common in New York, but you may see milk snakes, rat snakes, king snakes, and ringneck snakes. There are only 3 types of venomous snakes, the timber rattler, copperhead, and massasauga which some incorrectly call a pygmy rattler.