What's the difference between garlic powder and garlic granules?

The main difference between granulated garlic powder and granulated garlic is the texture and potency. Granulated garlic is more coarse than garlic powder. It looks very similar to salt; it also has a less potent flavor. Garlic powder is finely ground to a refined texture and is a lot more potent.