How long does it take to walk across the country?

In 1980, Frank Giannino Jr. ran 3,100 miles across the U.S. in 46 days, eight hours and 36 minutes. Don’t expect to match this world record feat. Depending on the route you choose, plan on walking the 2,500-plus miles at a rate of 15 to 30 miles a day.